Thing I discovered too late–Avengers: Earth’s Mightiest Heroes

Overall, I’m quite happy with our family’s decision to not have cable.  It’s significantly cheaper, reduces the temptation to leave the tube on mindlessly when nothing we’re interested in is on, and forces us to actually think about what shows we want to watch and what shows we don’t.  It’s a huge priority aid.  It’s not like we miss anything we’re REALLY interested in–our computer is directly hooked to our television, providing us with unlimited access to hulu, we have a netflix subscription, and anything that we MUST WATCH WHEN IT COMES OUT RIGHT NOW (read: Doctor Who) we can choose to purchase through Amazon video.  It’s a good system, with relatively few flaws.

One significant flaw that DOES exist in this system, though, is that one can miss out on the thrill of discovery.  Oh sure, you can stumble across awesome new things on Netflix, but generally only months/years after everybody else has already enjoyed it.  In some cases, you discover something awesome after it’s already been canceled forever, and so you have to balance your geeky enthusiasm with the sadness of knowing that once you finish all the episodes, there will never be any more.  It’s bittersweet.

This, if you hadn’t guessed by now, has been my experience with Avengers: Earth’s Mightiest Heroes.

For aesthetic purposes, Asgardian capes triple in length when majestically blowing in the wind.

There are a lot of great things about this show.  It’s exciting, it has fantastic character growth for a 30-minute kids’ cartoon, it relies heavily on a longer story arc while still maintaining satisfying one-shot episodes, and it gives all of the Avengers their moment in the sun.

For me, though, the most awesome thing about Avengers: Earth’s Mightiest Heroes is that it has made me deeply upset that Ant-Man and Wasp are not featured in the live action Marvel movies.

Awww, he’s so cute! Can we keep him?

I had never found either of these characters particularly interesting before, but EMH gives them both such entertaining personalities that I can’t help but fall in love with them.  Dr. Hank Pym is my kind of character–an over-the-top geek with a heart of gold and a passion for something nobody else cares about (“I’m mapping insect genomes! What could be more exciting????“).  Janet Van Dyne, or “Jan” as she is affectionately known by Hank, is spunky and youthful, aiding Hank in his research and putting up with his geeky outbursts with loving indulgence while guiding him to a greater purpose as a hero and an Avenger.  Their romance is more subtle in this cartoon (at least so far) than it is in the comic books (at least according to my very limited Google research), but it is still present and COMPLETELY ADORABLE.

LOOK AT HOW CUTE THEY ARE. THE CUTENESS. LOOK AT IT.

Wasp is also the kind of character I love to play in a superhero rpg (Tabletop, of course.  None of this MMO business for me).  She’s clever but also quirky, and she has a fantastic power set–flight and energy blasts, in addition to the shrinking powers she shares with Hank.  I know that they probably wouldn’t translate well in the Marvel movieverse, but now that I found out just how wonderful they can be I can’t help but wish that they would get their own movies.  Ah well.

I’m plowing through Avengers: Earth’s Mighiest Heroes just as fast as I can (read: when actual life things don’t interfere), and I’m thoroughly enjoying it.  I am already dreading watching the final episode, when I will have to face the reality that this show is already canceled and these versions of the characters won’t get any more wonderful stories together.  I guess I’ll just have to savor the moment.  Or watch them again with my son when he’s old enough to want to put the entire series on loop until I rue the day that I ever discovered it.  Either way, I’ll enjoy them right now.

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

