Lizzie Bennet Diaries, My Girly Squee of the Week.

This one’s for the ladies.

Okay, and the gentlemen who enjoy modern adaptations of period romance novels.  No judgment here, I just figure demographic the first is significantly larger.

I am going to boldly assume that some of you out there enjoy Jane Austen novels, or specifically Pride and Prejudice.  I’ll be honest, I resisted reading this literary classic for a L-O-N-G time.  I didn’t really have all the facts concerning what it was about, and reading pages upon pages of high society mingling sounded insufferably boring to me.  I finally caved when it was pre-installed free on my first tablet.  It didn’t take me long to get hooked on this amazing story.  The characters are vivid and the dialogue is hilarious and you get really, really invested in the lives of these people and their love lives and what’s going on with them.  So, you know, it’s basically 1800s fandom fodder.  It’s incredible.

Of course, there have been numerous screen adaptations of Pride and Prejudice.  My friend once made me sit down with her to enjoy the entire BBC miniseries rendition, which stars Colin Firth as Mr. William Darcy.  This was an excellent decision.  It’s a fantastic version of the book, extremely accurate, and Colin Firth does the gorgeous broody smolder very, very well.

Hey girl. You have fine eyes.

A while back, I overheard a favorite internet celeb, Felicia Day, discussing something called the Lizzie Bennet Diaries.  She described it as a webshow, in video blog format, that is a modern adaptation of Pride and Prejudice.  I was interested, but busy enough that I never actually checked it out.

A few weeks ago, I remembered that this show existed.  This was bad news for me, because after the first episode I was instantly hooked.  I think I watched the entire archive in a day or two.  The actors are tremendous (also, gorgeous.  Just saying.), the dialogue is both hilarious and heartbreaking, the adaptation is accurate while still being innovative and interesting, and the webshow format is fantastic for doing just what the book does to you: sucking you in to the lives of these women and making you ridiculously excited to know what happens next.

Next month, The Lizzie Bennet Diaries will come to an end.  I’ve only been a fan for a month or two, but I’m going to be deeply saddened when it’s over.  It’s exciting, though, because we finally get to see some storylines come to an end.  Specifically, today, they finally wrapped up the relationship between Jane Bennet and her ridiculously muscular and adorable guy, Bing Lee (see what they did there?).  SPOILER ALERT: they end up together.  And it’s adorable.  I won’t tell you how it all happens, because you really should go watch this series and join me in my addiction, but OH MY GOODNESS LOOK AT THE KISS IT’S SO CUTE.

I literally cheered out loud when this happened. I am literally restraining myself from cheering again as I post this image.

If there’s anything that will get a ridiculously girly reaction out of me, it’s a satisfying, happy ending for great characters.  *dreamy sigh*

Watch the Lizzie Bennet Diaries.  Doooo eeeeeeeet.  It’s incredible.  And I’m going to go fangirl all over the place now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

