Back From the Dead–back to blogging, back to geeking

mushulives

Hey, everyone.

There are like 6 people in the world who will notice this blog returning, but I am grateful for those people.  I said I was coming back a while ago and never followed up on that promise.  There are a lot of reasons for that, none of them particularly interesting.

What is interesting (or not, maybe, to you, but to me) is why I’m coming back.

It’s not that I haven’t been blogging at all–I discovered the wonderful world of tumblr a little over a year ago, and I’ve had a great deal of fun getting involved in that community.  That’s not likely to change any time soon.  But today, during some time of reflection with the Lord, I realized that I had lost something that was once very important to me–the joy of writing for Him.

Again, it’s not as though I haven’t been writing.  Since you last heard from me, I actually have become a full-time pastor in a wonderful, sleepy little midwestern town.  So I’m writing sermons weekly.  I’m writing posts on Tumblr. I’m writing papers to finish up my graduate degree.  I’m writing *pauses for dramatic effect* fanfiction.  I’m writing all sorts of things and I love writing and it is my passion, and I hope to continue to write all of those things.

But I can’t write anything if I’m not doing it for Jesus.

At its best, this blog was a place for me to combine two of my great loves–nerdy things and Jesus.  It was a place for me to express in long-winded, picture-ridden fashion the connections I find to my faith in great stories, in fun games, in all of the beautiful and weird and awesome facets of geek culture.  I’d like to get back to that place.  I feel like it’s important for me to get back to that place.  I feel as though it is going to be an important spiritual discipline for me in the days to come.

SO!  Buckle your seatbelts and get ready.  I’m going to be back to at least weekly blogging here.  There will be plenty of Doctor Who and Devotions, which I know are some of my more popular posts from the past.  I’ll also be commenting on things like tumblr culture, reviewing (and getting devotional-y about) my favorite other geeky pursuits, and maybe adding the occasional post about current events or family life (Guys, I’m a mom of two now.  TWO.  One of those reasons I talked about was the arrival of another little geekling in our numbers).

So please, if any of that sounds interesting to you, come along and join me. I’m looking forward to where this new writing journey takes me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back From the Dead–back to blogging, back to geeking

  1. Rhonda says:

    good to see you back!

Leave a Reply

